Site Contents

Homepage

Course syllabus

Schedule of assignments

All lectures by date

Additional reading

About the professor

Sociology Central schedule

Photo essays

Textbook study site

ISU Sociology Resources

Department of Sociology

Iowa State homepage

Documents

 

Date

Topic

Assigned reading

(1)

Mon., Jan. 10

Course overview

 

(2)

Wed., Jan. 12

The sociological paradox

Chap. 1, pp. 1-8

(3)

Fri., Jan. 14

The sociological imagination

Chap. 1, pp. 8-17

 

Monday, Jan. 17

NO CLASS
(4) Wed., Jan. 19 Obedience to authority Chap. 2, pp. 18-24

(5)

Fri., Jan. 21

Panic!

Chap. 2, pp. 24-35

(6)

Mon., Jan. 24

Three perspectives of sociology

Chap. 2, pp. 36-49

(7)

Wed., Jan. 26

The social construction of reality

Chap. 3, pp. 51-69

(8)

Fri., Jan. 28

The art of social research

Chap. 3, pp. 69-93

(9)

Mon., Jan. 31

The sociology of monuments

Chap. 4, pp. 94-102

(10)

Wed., Feb. 2

The sociology of emotions

Chap. 4, pp. 102-110

(11)

Fri., Feb. 4

The social construction of sex

Chap. 4, pp. 110-126

(12)

Mon., Feb. 7

Introduction to socialization

Chap. 5, pp. 127-140

(13)

Wed., Feb. 9

Gender socialization

Chap. 5, pp. 140-162

(14)

Fri., Feb. 11

Review for test #1

 
(15) Mon., Feb. 14 EXAM #1  

(16)

Wed., Feb. 16

The social construction of beauty

Chap. 6, pp. 163-168

(17)

Fri., Feb. 18

Impression management

Chap. 6, pp. 168-182

(18)

Mon., Feb. 21

Engagement proposal as performance

Chap. 6, pp. 182-198

(19)

Wed., Feb. 23

The social organization of sex

Chap. 7, pp. 199-210

 

*Part 1 due for extra credit projects*

(20)

Fri., Feb. 25

The American family

Chap. 7, pp. 210-243

(21)

Mon., Feb. 28

Measuring and labeling deviance

Chap. 8, pp. 244-254

(22)

Wed., Mar. 2

Explaining why people become deviant

Chap. 8, pp. 255-260

(23)

Fri., March 4

Power and deviance

Chap. 8, pp. 260-282

(24)

Mon., March 7

Social structure/organizations

Chap. 9, pp. 284-302

(25)

Wed., March 9

Social structure/organizations

Chap. 9, pp. 302-326

(26) Fri., March 11 Social structure/organizations  
*** Spring Break (March ) ***

(27)

Mon., March 21

Stratification from cradle to grave

Chap. 10, pp. 327-335

(28)

Wed., March 23

Explanations of stratification

Chap. 10, pp. 335-340

(29)

Fri., March 25

Review for exam #2

 

(30)

Mon., March 28

EXAM #2

 

(31)

Wed., March 30

Distribution of economic resources

Chap. 10, pp. 341-361

(32)

Fri., April 1

Homelessness

Chap. 10, pp. 361-380

(33)

Mon., April 4

Explanations of poverty

(34)

Wed., April 6

The social construction of race

Chap. 11, pp. 381-390

(35)

Fri., April 8

White privilege

Chap. 11, pp. 391-421

(36)

Mon., April 11

The black-white income gap

Chap. 11, pp. 421-425

(37)

Wed., April 13

Gender in everday interactions

Chap. 12, pp. 426-439

(38)

Fri., April 15

The second shift

Chap. 12, pp. 440-456

 

*Part 2 due for extra credit projects*

(39)

Mon., April 18

The gender income gap

Chap. 12, pp. 456-461

(40)

Wed., April 20

Birth cohorts

Chap. 13, pp. 462-483

(41)

Fri., April 22

Demographic trends

Chap. 13, pp. 483-501

(42)

Mon., April 25

Social movements

Chap. 14, pp. 502-523

(43)

Wed., April 27

Social movements, continued

Chap. 14, pp. 523-536

(44)

Fri., April 29

Review for final exam

 
 

TBA

FINAL EXAM

 

Important dates

Feb. 14 : Exam #1

Feb. 23: Part 1 of extra credit project due

March 28: Exam #2

April 15: Part 2 of extra credit paper project due

TBA: Final exam