News Service


John Kozak, Provost, (515) 294-0070
Richard Ross, Search Committee Chair, (515) 294-1250
Anne Dolan, University Relations, (515) 294-7065


AMES, Iowa -- Four finalists have been named in the national search for a new dean in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences at Iowa State University. The finalists are Sandra Greer, professor of chemical engineering and of chemistry and biochemistry, University of Maryland, College Park; Howard Grotch, interim dean of the Eberly College of Science and professor and chair of physics, Pennsylvania State University, University Park; Frederick Rudolph, chair and professor of biochemistry and cell biology at Rice University, Houston; and Herman Saatkamp Jr., professor and head of humanities in medicine, Texas A&M University, College Station.

Rudolph will visit campus Feb. 18-20, Greer will visit Feb. 23- 24, Saatkamp will visit Feb. 26-27, and Grotch will visit March 4-5. Each candidate's visit will include a public open forum and 5 p.m. reception, and an hour-long open discussion on campus diversity issues.

Open forums and diversity discussions

Discussion: Feb. 18, 4:30 p.m.,107 Lab of Mechanics
Forum: Feb. 19, 4:10 p.m., 1414 Molecular Biology

Forum: Feb. 23, 4:10 p.m., Memorial Union Campanile Room
Discussion: Feb. 24, 2 p.m., 107 Lab of Mechanics

Forum: Feb. 26, 4:10 p.m., Memorial Union Campanile Room
Discussion: Feb. 27, 2 p.m., 107 Lab of Mechanics

Forum: Mar. 4, 4:10 p.m., Memorial Union Gallery
Discussion: Mar. 5, 11 a.m., 107 Lab of Mechanics

Following is more information on each of the candidates.

Rudolph joined the Rice University faculty in 1972 and has chaired the biochemistry and cell biology department there since 1995. In addition, he has served as executive director of Rice University's Institute of Biosciences and Bioengineering since 1993, and as director of that institute's Mabee Laboratory for Biochemical and Genetic Engineering since 1986. He also is an adjunct professor of surgery in the University of Texas Medical School at Houston. His research interests include factors and mechanisms involved in controlling metabolism. He has been involved in science programs for minority high school students and recruitment and retention programs for minority undergraduate and graduate students, and has worked extensively in Rice's efforts to diversify its campus.

Rudolph received a B.S. in chemistry (1966) from the University of Missouri, Rolla; and a Ph.D. in biochemistry from Iowa State (1971).

Greer has been a faculty member at the University of Maryland since 1978. From 1990 to 1993, she served as chair of the department of chemistry and biochemistry. She served for a year (1985-86) as program director for structural chemistry and thermodynamics at the National Science Foundation, Washington, D.C. Prior to joining the Maryland faculty, she was a research chemist for nine years in the heat division at the National Bureau of Standards, Gaithersburg, Md. Her research interest is in the thermodynamic properties of polymer solutions. She also has published in the area of ethics in science and engineering.

Greer received a B.S. in chemistry (1966) from Furman University, Greenville, S.C.; and a M.S. in physical chemistry (1968) and Ph.D. in chemical physics (1969) from the University of Chicago.

Saatkamp has been a faculty member at Texas A&M since 1985 and head of the department of humanities in medicine since 1996. He chaired the department of philosophy and humanities from 1985 to 1994. Previously, he was a member of the philosophy faculty at the University of Tampa (1970 to 1985). At Tampa, he chaired the philosophy department for eight years and the humanities division for two years. His research interests are in American bioethics, ethical theory and particularly in the work of the American philosopher George Santayana. He has led the faculty governance units at both Tampa and Texas A&M.

Saatkamp received a B.A. (1964) from Carson-Newman College, Jefferson City, Tenn.; a M.Div. (1967) from Southern Theological Seminary; and a M.A. (1970) and Ph.D. (1972) from Vanderbilt University, Nashville, Tenn.

Grotch has worked at Penn State since 1967, was promoted to full professor by 1976, and has chaired the physics department since 1988. Since last June, he also has been serving as interim dean of the university's science college. As department chair, he raised the number of women faculty members from zero to five and oversees a retention program for women and minorities in science and engineering. A theoretical physicist, Grotch has worked on many problems in both particle physics and fundamental atomic physics. He is the co-author of a textbook for first-year physics students, Physics for Science and Engineering (1978).

Grotch received a B.S. (1962) from City College of New York, New York City; and a Ph.D. (1967) from Cornell University, Ithaca, N.Y.

The new dean will succeed Elizabeth Hoffman, who left Iowa State last fall to become provost and vice chancellor for academic affairs at the University of Illinois, Chicago. Richard Hoffmann, professor of zoology and associate dean of the college, is serving as interim dean.

The search committee is led by Richard Ross, dean of ISU's College of Veterinary Medicine.


Iowa State homepage

University Relations,
Copyright © 1997, Iowa State University, all rights reserved
Revised 2/10/98