Iowa State University


Steve Sullivan, News Service, (515) 294-3720


AMES, Iowa -- National Merit Scholars and National Achievement Scholars are being paired with Iowa State University alumni in a new mentoring program sponsored by the ISU Alumni Association.

The first 14 student scholars to enroll in the program met their alumni mentors at a dinner on April 18.

"Our goal is to provide every National Merit and National Achievement Scholar with an experienced alumni mentor," said Jim Hopson, executive director of the Alumni Association. "Iowa State has scores of alumni CEO's and other professionals regarded as tops in their fields, and we hope many of them will volunteer to be mentors."

The 14 National Merit Scholars and their alumni mentors are:


Conan Schwartz, Ames, IA, mechanical engineering; Dave Ellingson, Newton, IA, Director, R&D Design Engr., Maytag

Stacia Jelmeland, Anamosa, IA, chemical engineering; Theresa Harder, Swisher, IA, Project Manager., Proctor and Gamble

Jordan Lanini, Iowa City, IA, animal ecology; Karen Witter, Springfield, IL, Director, OSR&A,Illinois DNR

Clinton Martin, Marian, IA, electrical engineering; Norbert Hemesath, Cedar Rapids, IA Comm. DSP Retired VP, Adv. Tech. Engr., Rockwell International

Stacie Foglesong, Moulton, IA, genetics; Lisa Lorenzen Dahl, Madrid, IA, User Services Mgr., Pioneer Hi-Bred

Jill VanWyk, Pella, IA, zoology, pre-med; Bonnie Beer, Ames, IA, Physician, OB/GYN, McFarland Clinic

Jesse Werner, Red Oak, IA, aerospace engineering; John Roltgen, Cedar Rapids, IA, Group Mgr., Rockwell-Collins Avionics

Matt Herman, Urbandale, IA, computer science; Brent Thompson, Urbandale, IA, Technical Mgr., Microware Systems Corp.

Jennifer Schaffer, Fairmont, MN, journalism; Kevin Cooney, Des Moines, IA, News Anchor, KCCI-TV

Andrea Manuell, Plymouth, MN, biology (genetics); Wendy Dunn, Cedar Rapids, IA, Interim VP Academic Affairs, Coe College

Heidi Evans, Shoreview, MN, chemical engineering; Stuart Johnson, Iowa City, IA, Process Engineer, Monsanto

Tim Jennings, Rochester, MN, chemical engineering; Ronald Johnson, Midland, MI, Retired V.P., Gen.Mgr., Dow Corning

John Mark Meacham, Columbus, NE, mechanical engineering; Michael Cramer, Grand Rapids, MI, Principal staff engr., Smiths Industries

Sarah Williams, Omaha, NE, journalism; Joanne Kuster, Johnston, IA, President, Kuster Ltd.


Iowa State homepage

Diana Pounds, University Relations,
Copyright © 1997, Iowa State University, all rights reserved
Revised 4/16/97