Iowa State University


Dianne Bystrom, Catt Center, (515) 294-3181
Steve Sullivan, News Service, (515) 294-3720


AMES, Iowa -- Nationally known political scientist Ruth Mandel has been named the second holder of the Mary Louise Smith Endowed Chair in Women and Politics at Iowa State University.

Mandel is director of the Eagleton Institute of Politics and professor of politics at Rutgers University, New Brunswick, N.J. Mandel will make her first visit to campus on Oct. 6-7. While on campus, she will present a public lecture, speak at a symposium on women and leadership, and meet with students. Her visit is being coordinated by the Carrie Chapman Catt Center for Women and Politics.

"Ruth Mandel is an internationally known scholar and speaker on women's issues and a frequent commentator for the national media. We are thrilled that she is bringing her experiences, insights and scholarship on women and leadership to Iowa State," said Dianne Bystrom, Catt Center director.

Mandel writes and lectures about women and leadership, women as political candidates, women in office, women's political networks and the "gender gap" in politics. She is the author of "In the Running: The New Woman Candidate." She also teaches courses on women and American politics and political leadership.

In 1993, Mandel was named vice chairperson of the U.S. Holocaust Memorial Council by President Bill Clinton.

The Mary Louise Smith Endowed Chair in Women and Politics was created in 1995 to honor Mary Louise Smith, the only woman to chair the National Committee of the Republican Party. Fundraising continues to endow the $1 million chair, which is designed to bring outstanding political scholars and leaders to campus.

Smith is an Eddyville native who led the Republican national committee from 1974 through 1977. She was inducted into the Iowa Women's Hall of Fame in 1977 and is a founding member of the Iowa Women's Political Caucus.

Former Kansas Senator Nancy Kassebaum Baker was the first holder of the Smith Chair.


Iowa State homepage

University Relations,
Copyright © 1997, Iowa State University, all rights reserved
Revised 7/15/97