Iowa State University


John Kozak, Provost, (515) 294-0070
Anne Dolan, University Relations, (515) 294-7065


AMES, Iowa -- A committee has been named to conduct a national search for a vice president of student affairs at Iowa State University. Provost John Kozak will chair the committee.

Former Vice President for Student Affairs Tom Thielen retired from the position Dec. 31, but will remain on the faculty in the College of Education through the end of this academic year. Dan Robinson, professor of professional studies in education, is serving as interim vice president for student affairs.

Joining Kozak on the search committee are: Anne Ahrens, coordinator of special programs for admissions; Ginny Arthur, assistant director of residence; Camilla Benbow, professor of psychology and interim dean of the College of Education; Larry Curtis, Ames mayor and adjunct assistant professor of business; Juan Davila, a program coordinator in the College of Business; Gene Deisinger, assistant director of student counseling service; Ames resident Carol Grant; and Carole Heath, associate professor of chemical engineering.

Also, Eric Hoiberg, associate dean of the College of Agriculture; Terri Houston, assistant dean of students; Denis Klein, a senior in industrial engineering; Jennifer Montgomery, a graduate student in professional studies in education; Corly Petersen, professor of human development and family studies; Brata Prawiradjaja, a junior in chemical engineering; Kevin Ragland, a graduate student in animal science; and Sonja Rice, a junior in journalism and mass communication.

Committee members will begin reviewing applications Feb. 17, with the intent to invite finalists to campus in April. Nominations and applications (including a letter of application, resume and the names, addresses and phone numbers of five references) will be accepted until the position is filled and should be sent to: Vice President Search Committee, Office of the President, 117 Beardshear Hall, Iowa State University, Ames, Iowa 50011-2035.


Iowa State homepage

Diana Pounds, University Relations,
Copyright © 1996, Iowa State University, all rights reserved
Revised 1/2/97