Iowa State University

Martin Jischke, President, (515) 294-2042
John Anderson, University Relations, (515) 294-6136


AMES, Iowa -- Barb Licklider, associate professor of educational administration at Iowa State University, has been named the university's Faculty Athletic Representative to the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA). Her appointment to a three-year term beginning July 1, 1997, was announced today (Dec. 31, 1996) by ISU President Martin Jischke.

"Professor Licklider brings to this position a record of outstanding academic work as a faculty member, plus experience as a student-athlete and as a coach of student- athletes," Jischke said. "She is also very much involved in our efforts to improve the learning environment at Iowa State, and it's this combination that made her the best choice for the position.

"We had a very strong field of candidates," Jischke added, "and I'm pleased so many outstanding faculty members were interested in taking on this important responsibility. The screening committee, headed by Richard Seagrave, did an excellent job."

Licklider is the first woman to serve as Iowa State's Faculty Athletic Representative.

Licklider has been a member of the Iowa State faculty since 1990. She was previously a junior high school principal at Council Bluffs, a junior-senior high school principal at Anita, and a junior and senior high teacher at Fort Dodge. While at Fort Dodge, Licklider also coached basketball, volleyball and track.

Licklider earned the B.S. in 1974, M.S. in 1981 and Ph.D. in 1986, all from Iowa State.

ISU's Faculty Athletic Representative to the NCAA represents the university at meetings of the Big 12 Conference and the NCAA, advises Jischke on various athletic matters and helps maintain the academic integrity of the athletic program and each student-athlete. The representative also must certify the eligibility of student-athletes and investigate reports of rules violations.

Norm Boyles, ISU's Faculty Athletic Representative since 1986, is retiring June 30, 1997.