Iowa State University
INDEX A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

News Service

News Service:

Annette Hacker, director,
(515) 294-3720

Office: (515) 294-4777

11-17-08

Contacts:

Mike Ferlazzo, News Service (515) 294-8986, ferlazzo@iastate.edu

Annette Hacker, News Service, (515) 294-3720, annette@iastate.edu

MEDIA ADVISORY: Iowa State experts can discuss economy, recession-related topics

AMES, Iowa -- Iowa State University faculty and staff members are available to share their insight and expertise on numerous topics related to the country's current economic crisis and plans for recovery.

Community economic shocks

Terry Besser, professor of sociology, (515) 294-6508, tbesser@iastate.edu.

The economy, Iowa economics, Iowa workforce

Liesl Eathington, assistant scientist in economics and director, Regional Capacity Analysis Program, (515) 294-2954, leathing@iastate.edu.

Dave Swenson, associate scientist in economics, Regional Capacity Analysis Program, (515) 294-7458, dswenson@iastate.edu.

Financial crisis, small firm bankruptcy, investment banking, investment analysis

Rick Carter, professor of finance, Dean's Professorship in Finance, (515) 294-9438, rbcarter@iastate.edu.

Financial literacy, personal finance

Tahira Hira, professor of personal finance and consumer economics in the Department of Human Development and Family Studies, member of President Bush's Advisory Council on Financial Literacy, (515) 294-2042, tkhira@iastate.edu.

Doug Borkowski, director of Iowa State University's Financial Counseling Clinic, lecturer in human development and family studies, (515) 294-8644, dbork@iastate.edu.

Monetary theory, credit market imperfections, bank panics

Joydeep Bhattacharya, associate professor of economics, (515) 294-5886, joydeep@iastate.edu.

Real estate, mortgages, subprime loans

Marvin Bouillon, chair of accounting and finance, Mark & Pam Fisher Fellow in Accounting, (515) 294-9276, bouillon@iastate.edu.

Retail analysis, mortgage banking, household finance

Meghan O'Brien, ISU Extension program specialist, Regional Capacity Analysis Program, (515) 991-1947 (c), (515) 294-4095, mcobrien@iastate.edu

Stock market price reaction, market volatility

Arnie Cowan, professor of finance, Wells Fargo Professorship in Finance, (515) 294-9439, arnie@iastate.edu

Unemployment, wage compensation, general economic questions

Peter Orazem, University Professor of economics, (515) 294-8656, pfo@iastate.edu.

-30-

Quick look

ISU faculty and staff members are available to share their expertise on numerous topics related to the country's current economic crisis.