Iowa State University

News Service

News Service:

Annette Hacker, director,
(515) 294-3720

Office: (515) 294-4777


"A Sesquicentennial History of Iowa State University: Tradition and Transformation"


  • Dorothy Schwieder,volume editor, University Professor emerita of history, Iowa State University

    Volume editor Dorothy Schwieder was a member of the Iowa State University history faculty from 1966 to 2000, during which time she taught the History of Iowa course almost every semester. Schwieder taught in-service Iowa history courses to area public school teachers and has presented hundreds of talks on Iowa history to groups throughout the state. She served on the board for the State Historical Society of Iowa for 18 years and on the Humanities Iowa Speakers Bureau for 15. She has written or coauthored seven books on Iowa history, the most recent being "Iowa: The Middle Land" (Iowa State University Press, 1996).

  • Gretchen Van Houten, executive editor

    Editorial consultant Gretchen Van Houten has worked in the publishing industry from 1982 through 2006 in various capacities from proofreader to editorial director. She was the last director at Iowa State University Press before it was sold to Blackwell Science, now Blackwell Publishing, Inc. She stayed on at Blackwell as editorial director, overseeing a successful transition to commercial publishing, and eventually became senior publisher for the agriculture list. In her years at Iowa State Press, Van Houten worked in a developmental role with authors on numerous books about Iowa, many of them histories aimed at a general readership.


  • John R. Anderson is assistant to the president for communications at Iowa State University. He has been employed by Iowa State since 1980 in communications and administrative positions.
  • J.L. Anderson holds a Ph.D. in agricultural history and rural studies from Iowa State University. His dissertation is a study of the ways farmers used technology in the post-World War II period to remake their fields and farmsteads. In August 2006 he joined the History Department of the University of West Georgia as an assistant professor.
  • Jenny Barker Devine is a Ph.D. candidate in agricultural history and rural studies at Iowa State University. She is the author of "A Century of Brotherhood: 100 Years of Sigma Alpha Epsilon at Iowa State University" (Ames: Sigma Alpha Epsilon, McMillan Publishing, 2005).
  • Amy Bix is associate professor of history at Iowa State University and a faculty member of Iowa State's Program in the History of Technology and Science. Her book, "Inventing Ourselves Out of Jobs? America's Debate over Technological Unemployment, 1929-1981," was published by Johns Hopkins University Press in 2000. She is currently finishing a book entitled "Engineering Education for American Women: An Intellectual, Institutional, and Social History."
  • Peter Butler is a lecturer in the Department of Landscape Architecture at Iowa State University. He holds a bachelor of arts degree in English - creative writing from the University of Wisconsin - Madison, and bachelor's and master's degrees in landscape architecture from Iowa State. He teaches beginning and upper-level landscape architecture design studios.
  • Charles M. Dobbs is professor and chair of history at Iowa State University. He earned his B.A. from the University of Connecticut and his M.A. and Ph.D. from Indiana University, all in history. He is the author of "The Unwanted Symbol" (1981) and "The United States and East Asia Since 1945" (1990). He recently finished "Triangles, Symbols and Constraints: The United States, the Soviet Union, and the People's Republic of China, 1963-1969" and is currently working on "Trade and Security: The United States and East Asia, 1961-1969."
  • David Hamilton is associate professor of history at the University of Kentucky (Lexington). He earned his B.S. at Iowa State in 1976 and his Ph.D. at the University of Iowa in 1985. He has written "From New Day to New Deal: American Farm Policy from Hoover to Roosevelt, 1928-1933" (1991). His wife, Cynthia Parks Hamilton, is also an Iowa State graduate (1976) and the daughter of W. Robert Parks, Iowa State's 11th and longest-serving president.
  • Gregory Geoffroy is the 14th president of Iowa State University (inaugurated July 1, 2001). He also holds the rank of professor of chemistry. He previously served as senior vice president for academic affairs and provost at the University of Maryland, and as a faculty member and administrator at the Pennsylvania State University. He earned a B.S. from the University of Louisville and a Ph.D. in chemistry from the California Institute of Technology.
  • Tom Kroeschell is associate athletics director for media relations at Iowa State University. He has worked as a Cyclone athletic publicist since 1985.
  • Pamela Riney-Kehrberg is professor of history and director of agricultural history and rural studies. She is author and editor of three books, "Rooted In Dust" (1994), "Waiting on the Bounty" (1999), and "Childhood on the Farm" (2005).