Iowa State University nameplate

News Service
Gold bar
Today's News
News releases
ISU homepage


Norman Cheville, Veterinary Medicine, (515) 294-0773
Sue Ellen Tuttle, Family and Consumer Sciences, (515) 294-8799
Kevin Brown, News Service, (515) 294-8986


AMES, Iowa -- An 19-member committee, headed by Dr. Norman Cheville, dean of the College of Veterinary Medicine at Iowa State University and a Clarence Hartley Covault Distinguished Professor in Veterinary Medicine, has begun the search for a new Iowa State University College of Family and Consumer Sciences dean.

The successful candidate will succeed Dean Carol Meeks, who will step down June 30 after six years. Meeks will serve as director of the Center for Family Policy, also at Iowa State. Pam White, University Professor of food science and human nutrition, has been named interim dean effective July 1.

Cheville said the committee will begin review of applications on Sept. 5. Finalist candidates will likely visit campus in late October or early November. The new dean is expected to be in place by July 1, 2004.

Besides Cheville, the search committee includes two other distinguished professors: Don Beitz, a Charles F. Curtiss Distinguished Professor in Agriculture, and Mary Littrell, a Mary B. Welch Distinguished Professor in Family and Consumer Sciences.

Iowa State President Gregory Geoffroy said he has directed the search committee to find a candidate to continue the long tradition and cutting-edge research of the college.

"The person we're seeking as dean of our College of Family and Consumer Sciences must be a leader worthy of the college's great traditions," Geoffroy said. "The person must have the skills and talents needed to continue to build the college's academic excellence in the future. I'm confident this search committee will find such a person and I'm grateful for the members' service to the college and the university."

Benjamin Allen, vice president of academic affairs and provost, said Interim Dean White will guide the college forward during the search process.

"White has a great understanding of the college and is respected across campus," Allen said. "She has achieved national recognition in her field through research and dedication. She is committed to providing strong programs that not only educate students, but give back to the state."

Other committee members from the College of Family and Consumer Sciences are Diane Birt, professor and chair of the department of food science and human nutrition; JaneAnn Stout, associate dean and director of Extension to Families; Lee Alekel, associate professor of food science and human nutrition; Sedahlia Crase, professor of human development and family studies; Dan Russell, professor of human development and family studies; Aubrey Mendonca, assistant professor of food science and human nutrition; Jean Parsons, assistant professor of textiles and clothing; Lisa Enloe, practicum placement coordinator for human development and family studies; Carolyn Clawson, graduate assistant in human development and family studies; and Brian Wicks, undergraduate student.

Committee members from other areas of the university are Virginia Blackburn, associate professor of management; Ramon Gonzalez, assistant professor of chemical engineering and food science and human nutrition; Alicia Carriquiry, associate provost; and Ruth Birch, secretary in the Provost's Office.

Two search committee members from the community at-large are Julie Rosin, curriculum administrator for the Des Moines Independent Community School District, and Bill Scott, general manager of the Des Moines Marriott.

Information on the search is at


Iowa State University
... Becoming the Best
Ames, Iowa 50011, (515) 294-4111
Published by: University Relations,
Copyright © 1995-2003, Iowa State University of Science and Technology. All rights reserved.