Iowa State University nameplate

News Service
Gold bar
Today's News
News releases
ISU homepage


Contacts: Terry Mason, Memorial Union, (515) 294-2300
Thomas Hill, Student Affairs, (515) 294-1909
John McCarroll, University Relations, (515) 294-6136


AMES, Iowa -- Richard S. Reynolds, executive director of the University Center at the University of Texas, San Antonio, has been named director of the Iowa State University Memorial Union, effective Aug. 25.

Reynolds has been an associate director of university centers at the University of Wisconsin, Eau Claire, and Texas A&M University, College Station. He has served in additional student affairs positions, ranging from program adviser to interim associate vice president for student life, during his 25-year career in higher education.

"Richard Reynolds will draw on an impressive set of past experiences to lead the Memorial Union as it undergoes substantial changes," said Thomas Hill, ISU vice president for student affairs. "His background includes work with budgets, planning, student leadership, cultural programming, campus recreation, special events, judicial affairs, public relations and marketing."

For the first 75 years it was in service, the Memorial Union operated as a non-profit corporation. The legal transfer of the Union to Iowa State University was completed on March 31 this year. The change was made to take advantage of the university's bonding capacity to make needed renovations to the physical facility and to expand the student presence in the building.

Reynolds has a B.S. in sociology (1975) from Texas Wesleyan College and M.Ed. in student personnel services (1977) from Texas Christian University.

Reynolds succeeds Maryjo Mertens, who retired in April. Terry Mason, director of the student counseling service and interim associate director of student affairs, has served as interim director of the Memorial Union since May 1.


Iowa State University
... Becoming the Best
Ames, Iowa 50011, (515) 294-4111
Published by: University Relations,
Copyright © 1995-2003, Iowa State University of Science and Technology. All rights reserved.