Iowa State University nameplate

News Service
Gold bar
Today's News
News releases
ISU homepage


Gregory Geoffroy, President, Iowa State University, (515) 294-2042
Richard C. Seagrave, Chair, Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost Search Committee and Anson Marston Distinguished Professor in Engineering, (515) 294- 0518
Diana Pounds, University Relations, (515) 294-4845

ALSO SEE: Candidates' vitas, campus visit itineraries and more

Smith Barrett Nancy Smith Barrett Terry
S. King Terry S. King Gary
S. Krahenbuhl Gary S. Krahenbuhl

AMES, Iowa -- Three finalists have been named in the search for a vice president for academic affairs and provost at Iowa State University.

The finalists are: Nancy Smith Barrett, provost and vice president for academic affairs at the University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa; Terry S. King, dean of the College of Engineering at Kansas State University, Manhattan; and Gary S. Krahenbuhl, senior vice president at Arizona State University, Tempe.

Over the next few weeks, each candidate will visit campus for two days, meeting with a variety of university groups. All members of the campus community are invited to meet candidates during open forums. (See forum times below.)

Nancy Smith Barrett
Barrett has been provost and vice president for academic affairs at the University of Alabama since 1996. Prior to that, she served as provost and vice president for academic affairs (1991-96) at Western Michigan University, Kalamazoo. At Farleigh Dickinson University, she was dean (1989-91) of the Silberman College of Business Administration, a tri-campus college in Madison, Rutherford and Teaneck, N.J. She spent 23 years on the faculty at American University, Washington, D.C., where she also served as chair of the economics department, and director of the Ph.D., M.A. and B.A. programs. She has held government posts with the Civil Aeronautics Board, Department of Labor, President's Council of Economic Advisers, the Carter-Mondale presidential transition team, and the Congressional Budget Office.

She received a B.A. (1963) in economics from Goucher College, Baltimore, Md.; and M.A. (1965) and Ph.D. (1968), both in economics from Harvard University, Cambridge, Mass.

Terry S. King
King has been dean of the College of Engineering at Kansas State since 1997. He was on the faculty at Iowa State University for 15 years, serving as chair of the department of chemical engineering for seven of those years (1990-1997). He also has served as a senior engineer and research engineer with Exxon Chemical Co., Baton Rouge, La., and as a consulting engineer at Arthur D. Little, Inc., Cambridge, Mass.

King received a B.S. (1975) in chemical engineering from Iowa State University and Ph.D. (1979) in chemical engineering from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge.

Gary S. Krahenbuhl
Krahenbuhl [pronounced "krayon byule"] has been senior vice president at Arizona State for two years, with responsibilities involving the three campuses, downtown center and research park. At Arizona State, he also has served as dean (1990-2000) and associate dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, chair of the department of health and physical education, and director of the Human Performance Laboratory. He also was on faculty at the University of Hawaii, Honolulu.

He received a B.S. (1965) and M.S. (1966), both in education from Northern Illinois University, De Kalb, and a doctorate of education (1969) from the University of Northern Colorado, Greeley.

Current provost
Provost Rollin Richmond left Iowa State in June 2002 to become president of Humboldt State University, Arcata, Calif. Currently serving as provost is Benjamin Allen, a distinguished professor in business who has served as interim vice president for external affairs and dean of the business college.

Forums schedule
Each candidate will speak and answer questions during an open forum and a forum to discuss diversity issues. Both forums are open to the campus community and general public. Following are forum schedules for the candidates. (Forums will be videotaped and available via streaming video on the Web.)

  • Nov. 13 (Wednesday): Terry S. King
    Diversity forum, 9:15-10 a.m., Oak Room, Memorial Union
    Open forum, 1:30-3 p.m., Pioneer Room, Memorial Union
  • Nov. 15 (Friday): Gary S. Krahenbuhl
    Diversity forum, 9:15-10 a.m., Oak Room, Memorial Union
    Open forum: 1:30-3 p.m., 298 Carver Hall
  • Nov. 20 (Wednesday): Nancy Smith Barrett
    Diversity forum, 9:15-10 a.m., 294 Carver
    Open forum: 1:30-3 p.m., Pioneer Room, Memorial Union.

More information on the Web
Finalists' vitas, itineraries for their campus visits, and video from open forums will be available at this Web site:


Download print-quality photos

Iowa State University
... Becoming the Best
Ames, Iowa 50011, (515) 294-4111
Published by: University Relations,
Copyright © 1995-2002, Iowa State University of Science and Technology. All rights reserved.