[an error occurred while processing this directive]
Iowa State University nameplate

News Service
Gold bar
Today's News
News releases
ISU homepage


Dick Seagrave, Engineering, (515) 294-0518
John McCarroll, University Relations, (515) 294-6137


AMES, Iowa-- A 20-member committee will begin the search for a new Iowa State University provost.

Rollin Richmond, the current provost, has been named president of Humboldt State University in California. He is expected to begin his new duties early this summer. Benjamin Allen, interim vice president for external affairs at Iowa State University, will serve as Iowa State provost while a search for a new provost is conducted.

Dick Seagrave, Distinguished Professor in engineering and professor of chemical engineering, will chair the search.

"This is a highly significant search for Iowa State University, and I am very pleased with the breadth and quality of this search committee," said Gregory Geoffroy, Iowa State University president. "Dick Seagrave brings excellent leadership to this process."

The search committee members are:
  • Chris Ahoy, associate vice president for facilities;
  • Diane Birt, professor and chair of food science and human nutrition and director of the Center for Designing Foods to Improve Nutrition;
  • Teresa Branch, associate vice president for student affairs;
  • Carolina Cruz-Neira, associate director of the Virtual Reality Applications Center and associate professor of industrial and manufacturing systems engineering;
  • Diane Egdorf, president of the Graduate Student Senate;
  • Rex Heer, president of the Professional and Scientific Council;
  • Tahira Hira, associate vice provost for extension and professor of human development and family studies;
  • Mary Huba, associate vice provost for undergraduate programs and professor of educational leadership and policy studies;
  • Susan Lamont, professor and head of animal science;
  • Calvin Lewis, professor and chair of architecture;
  • Olivia Madison, dean of library services and professor of library;
  • James Melsa, dean of the College of Engineering and professor of electrical and computer engineering;
  • Paula Morrow, university professor of management;
  • James Roth, distinguished professor of veterinary microbiology and preventative medicine;
  • T.J. Schneider, president of the Government of the Student Body;
  • Gary Steinke, director of governmental relations;
  • Julie Tarbox, secretary in the provost's office;
  • Gary Wells, distinguished professor of psychology; and
  • Max Wortman, distinguished professor of management. Sandy Gartz, university relations, will provide staff support for the search.

    The goal is to have a new provost on campus by early 2003.


  • Iowa State University
... Becoming the Best
    Ames, Iowa 50011, (515) 294-4111
    Published by: University Relations, online@iastate.edu
    Copyright © 1995-2002, Iowa State University of Science and Technology. All rights reserved.