[an error occurred while processing this directive]
Iowa State University nameplate

News Service
Gold bar
Today's News
News releases
ISU homepage


Stanley Johnson, Vice Provost for Extension, (515) 294-6192
Steve Sullivan, News Service, (515) 294-3720


AMES, Iowa -- Iowa State University is launching a new search for the dean of the College of Agriculture.

Stanley Johnson, vice provost for extension and Charles F. Curtiss Distinguished Professor of Agriculture, will chair the 18-member search committee.

The College of Agriculture dean is the academic leader and executive officer of the college and reports to the university provost. The dean also serves as the director of the university's Agriculture and Home Economics Experiment Station. The College of Agriculture includes 17 academic departments, 13 interdisciplinary programs and 14 centers.

"This is an important position of leadership for the university and the state. Attracting an excellent dean for the college is a high priority for me," said Gregory Geoffroy, Iowa State' s incoming president. "I want the College of Agriculture to be the best in the country in every way in which it is measured."

Other committee members are Bruce Babcock, professor of economics and director of the Center for Agricultural and Rural Development; Don Bietz, Distinguished Professor of animal science; Lorna Michael Butler, Henry A. Wallace chair for sustainable agriculture and professor of sociology; Susan Carpenter, professor of veterinary microbiology and preventative medicine; Stephanie Danner, student in agricultural education; Rich Degner, executive director of the Iowa Pork Producers Association; Jill Euken, extension field specialist; Brent Halling, deputy secretary of the Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship; Stephen Howell, director of the Plant Sciences Institute; J. Michael Kelly, professor and chair of forestry; Don Latham, operations manager of Latham Seed Co.; Michael Lee, professor of agronomy; Steve Rodmerel, associate dean of Liberal Arts and Sciences; JaneAnn Stout, associate professor of art and design and associate dean of Family and Consumer Sciences; Udoyara Sunday Tim, associate professor of agricultural and biosystems engineering; Laura Grapes, graduate assistant in animal science; and Alicia Carriquiry, professor of statistics and associate provost.

Nominations and applications should be submitted to Stanley R. Johnson, Search Committee Chair, Office of the Provost, Iowa State University, 107 Beardshear Hall, Ames, Iowa 50011 or srjohnso@iastate.edu. Questions can be addressed to Ruth Birch at rbirch@iastate.edu.

The committee will begin reviewing applications in August. The search will continue until the position is filled. Information on the search is available at http://www.provost.iastate.edu/positions/agdean/searchcomm.html


Iowa State University
... Becoming the Best
Ames, Iowa 50011, (515) 294-4111
Published by: University Relations, online@iastate.edu
Copyright © 1995-2000, Iowa State University of Science and Technology. All rights reserved.