Thomas Mitchell, ISU Foundation, (515) 294-4607
Steve Sullivan, News Service, (515) 294-3720


AMES, Iowa -- A new scholarship has been established at Iowa State University in honor of the donors whose gifts made Campaign Destiny: To Become the Best the most successful fund-raising effort in ISU history.

The scholarship and its first recipient were announced Friday, Oct. 6, at the Order of the Knoll Fall Gala, an annual event for Iowa State's top donors. The evening also included presentation of the Order of the Knoll awards recognizing exceptional philanthropic and volunteer achievements.

The first recipient of the $1,000 Campaign Destiny Scholarship is Crystal Castro, a freshman in materials science and engineering from Sioux Rapids.

"Fortunately, I've always believed that without an education, I wouldn't get anywhere. So I worked really hard, got good grades, and people recognized me for that. And today, to have people put so much faith in me and my education, I’m just amazed, extremely grateful, and overwhelmed," said Castro.

"The endowed Campaign Destiny Scholarship is our way of thanking the thousands of donors who contributed to this successful campaign. One of the largest areas for donors' gifts during Campaign Destiny was scholarships, so establishing one in their honor was very appropriate," said Tom Mitchell, ISU Foundation president.

Donors contributed almost $104 million for scholarship programs during Campaign Destiny. The five-year campaign, which officially ended June 30, raised more than $458.6 million toward projects advancing Iowa State’s aspiration to become the nation’s best land-grant university.

Mitchell and Arend Sandbulte, chair of the Foundation Board of Directors, presented Order of the Knoll awards to five individual and corporate donors for their exceptional support of and involvement with Iowa State. The 2000 Order of the Knoll honorees are listed below.
  • Roger Underwood ('80). Ames, received the Order of the Knoll Young Alumni Award for exemplary service to community and dedication to Iowa State. The co-owner of Becker-Underwood has provided significant support for Cyclone athletics and Tau Kappa Epsilon fraternity. He also helped to establish the College of Agriculture Alumni Association.
  • Steven E. Zumbach ('73/PhD'80), West Des Moines, was awarded the Order of the Knoll Cardinal and Gold Award for long-term service through creative leadership and community interaction. A certified public accountant and partner with the law firm of Belin, Lamson, McCormick, Zumbach, and Flynn, Zumbach has been instrumental in the ISU Foundation's past three fund-raising campaigns, serving most recently on the Campaign Destiny national executive committee as scholarship co-chairman.
  • The Maytag Corporation Foundation received the Order of the Knoll Corporate/Foundation Award in recognition of distinguished partnership and unparalleled support. Maytag Corporation Foundation has made leadership gifts to more than 15 ISU programs and colleges, most recently equipping two labs in the Palmer Human Development and Family Studies Building. Lloyd D. Ward is president of Maytag Corporation Foundation and chairman and CEO of Maytag Corporation. Janis S. Cooper, Maytag vice president, represented the Maytag Corporate Foundation at the ceremony.
  • Barbara Raeder Palmer ('46) and James R. Palmer ('44). State College, Penn., received the Order of the Knoll Campanile Award for exemplary philanthropy and outstanding dedication. The Palmers' contributions to Iowa State range from scholarships and faculty chairs to new buildings and works of art. Their $1 million leadership gift kicked off fund raising for the $8.3 million Palmer Human Development and Family Studies Building.


Iowa State homepage

University Relations, online@iastate.edu
Copyright © 1999-2000, Iowa State University, all rights reserved