Richard Seagrave, President's Office, (515) 294-2042
Corly Petersen Brooke, Center for Teaching Excellence, (515) 294-2402
Steve Sullivan, News Service, (515) 2944-3720


AMES, Iowa -- Richard Seagrave, interim president of Iowa State University, has been named the 2000 Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching/Council for the Advancement and Support of Education (CASE) Iowa Professor of the Year.

Professors of the Year are chosen for their impact on undergraduates, scholarly approach to teaching and contributions to undergraduate education. Seagrave was nominated for Professor of the Year by Corly Petersen Brooke, professor and director of Iowa State's Center for Teaching Excellence.

"Dr. Seagrave exemplifies dedication to undergraduate student learning. Even while carrying the heavy responsibilities of interim provost and interim president, he has continued to serve as adviser to many undergraduates," Brooke said. "His advocacy for a focus on undergraduate student learning paved the way for the advancement of many of the initiatives of the Center for Teaching Excellence."

Seagrave teaches undergraduate and graduate courses in chemical engineering and biomedical engineering. During his career at Iowa State, he has served as an adviser to more than 300 undergraduate chemical engineering majors. Currently, he advises nearly 40 undergraduates and two Ph.D. students.

He joined the ISU faculty in 1966 as an associate professor of chemical engineering. He was named professor in 1971 and the Anson Marston Distinguished Professor of Chemical Engineering in 1982. From 1974 to 1980, Seagrave served as professor-in-charge of ISU's biomedical engineering program. From 1983 to 1990, Seagrave served as chair of the chemical engineering department. He served as interim director of the ISU Computation Center from 1991 to 1992. Seagrave served as interim provost of Iowa State from January to September, 1999.

Seagrave became interim president in August. He will serve in the position until a successor for former Iowa State president Martin Jischke is appointed and assumes office. Jischke was appointed president of Purdue University, West Lafayette, Ind.

Seagrave has served on numerous university committees, including the graduate college council and the university Honors program. He is a Fellow of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers, and serves on the institute's education and accreditation committee.

He received the College of Engineering Outstanding Adviser Award in 1994 and the University Honors Program Award for Mentoring and Advising in 1997. He has named the Iowa State Engineering Student Council Outstanding Professor in Chemical Engineering 11 times, most recently in 1998.

CASE is the largest international association of educational institutions, with nearly 2,900 colleges, universities and independent elementary and secondary schools in 44 countries. The Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching is the only advanced study center for teachers in the world.


Iowa State homepage

University Relations, online@iastate.edu
Copyright © 1999-2000, Iowa State University, all rights reserved