Rollin Richmond, Provost, (515) 294-0070
Anne Krapfl, University Relations, (515) 294-7065


AMES, Iowa -- Andrew Novakovic, chair of the Department of Agricultural, Resource and Managerial Economics at Cornell University, Ithaca, N.Y., has been named a finalist in the search for Iowa State University's next dean of the College of Agriculture. He will visit campus June 19-20.

Novakovic (pronounced No-VAH-ko-vich), an expert in dairy and agricultural policy and economics, holds the E.V. Baker Professorship in Agricultural Economics and serves as director of the Cornell Program on Dairy Markets and Policy. He has served as department chair at Cornell since 1993. He joined the Cornell faculty in 1979 and holds a doctoral degree (1979) and master's degree (1976) from Purdue University and a bachelor's degree (1974) from the University of Wisconsin, River Falls. All degrees are in agricultural economics. He has a nationally and internationally known extension program in dairy policy and international marketing.

Novakovic will participate in an open forum at 3:30 p.m. Monday, June 19, in 1204 Kildee Hall. A reception will follow at 4:30 p.m. in the Kildee atrium. A complete visit schedule will be posted on Iowa State’s Web site at www.iastate.edu/~provost/staff/search/SchNovakovic.html.

Novakovic is the first finalist to be invited to campus since the search for a dean of Agriculture was extended in January, said Iowa State Provost Rollin Richmond. Other candidates also may be invited to campus, he added.

Six finalists had interviewed for the dean of Agriculture post before the search was extended. "All had strong credentials, but no consensus had emerged as to who would be the best leader for the College of Agriculture," Richmond said.

Richard Ross, dean of the College of Veterinary Medicine, also has been serving as interim dean of the College of Agriculture since Feb. 1, when former Agriculture dean David Topel stepped down.


Iowa State homepage

University Relations, online@iastate.edu
Copyright © 1999-2000, Iowa State University, all rights reserved