Alan Goldman, Physics and Astronomy, (515) 294-5442
Vladimir Kogan, Ames Lab, (515) 294-8080
Laura Boskelly, News Service, (515) 294-6881


AMES, Iowa -- The American Physical Society (APS), an organization of more than 40,000 physicists worldwide, has elected two Iowa State University professors Fellows to their organization.

Alan Goldman, professor and chair of physics and astronomy, and Vladimir Kogan, scientist in the Ames Laboratory, are among 208 new Fellows selected by the APS. Fellows are chosen based on the advances made in their research and publication or contributions in the application of physics to science and technology.

Alan Goldman was cited as an APS Fellow for his work in understanding the structure of quasicrystals, novel materials that have expanded our fundamental views of ordered solids, and for developments in magnetic x-ray scattering, a relatively new technique used to study the magnetic structure of materials. Goldman uses x-ray scattering techniques to determine how atoms arrange themselves in solids and how this arrangement changes as temperature, pressure and magnetic field are varied. Goldman also leads a consortium of universities in the operation of an x-ray beam line at the Advanced Photon Source at Argonne National Laboratory, Chicago.

Vladimir Kogan was selected as an APS Fellow for his theoretical studies of magnetic properties of anisotropic type-II superconductors, which were first discovered by IBM scientists in 1987. The materials could have important applications in electronics, power storage and transmission. However, the materials are anisotropic, i.e., their crystals have different properties (electric, magnetic, mechanical) in different directions. Kogan, a theorist, is studying the consequences of this anisotropy.

Ames Laboratory is operated for the U.S. Department of Energy by Iowa State University.

Iowa State homepage

University Relations, online@iastate.edu
Copyright © 1999, Iowa State University, all rights reserved