[ MwALT Mission Statement ] [Current and Past Officers]


ASSOCIATION FOR LANGUAGE TESTING & ASSESSMENT AT ALL EDUCATIONAL LEVELS

The purpose of the Midwest Association of Language Testers (MwALT) shall be to foster understanding of the principles of language assessment in educational settings in the Midwest.

MwALT shall serve to:
  • Stimulate professional growth through workshops and conferences
  • Promote the dissemination of information related to language assessment
  • Foster opportunities for training in language assessment
  • Provide leadership in language assessment
  • Offer professional services to its constituencies
  • Increase public understanding and support of language assessment
  • Recognize outstanding achievement in language assessment
  • Establish links with other groups interested in language assessment



Current Officers

President:Paula Winke, Michigan State University, winke@msu.edu
Treasurer: Pedro Cordova, Rasmussen College, pjcjr@am3inc.net
Secretary: F. Scott Walters, Southern Connecticut State University, fswalters@hotmail.com
Member-at-Large: Mark Chapman, Cambridge-Michigan Language Assessment, chapman.m@cambridgemichigan.org
Graduate Student Representatives: Betsy Lavolette betsy@msu.edu, Michigan State University; Stephanie Gaillard gaillar1@illinois.edu, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign ; Olexandra Kostenko kostenk2@illinois.edu, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign; Hyejin Yang hjyang@iastate.edu, Iowa State University

Past Officers

President: Micheline Chalhoub-Deville, University of North Carolina, Greensboro, MBCHALHO@uncg.edu.

Deborah Crusan, Wright State University, Dayton, OH deborah.crusan@wright.edu

Lia Plakans, University of Iowa, lia-plakans@uiowa.edu


Treasurer: April Ginther, Purdue University, aginther@purdue.edu

Secretary: Dan Douglas, Iowa State University, dandoug@iastate.edu

Felicity Douglas, Iowa State University, fdouglas@iastate.edu

Member-at-Large: Barb Dobson, University of Michigan, bdobson@umich.edu

Spiros Papageorgiou, ETS, s.papageorgiou@ets.org