herbarium logo

Ada Hayden Herbarium (ISC)

Iowa's Herbaria

Got a question?

Got a question or comment? Contact us at (515) 294-9499 or dlewis@iastate.edu.

Iowa's herbaria are important resources both to the state and to the larger "botanical community". The two-thirds of a million or so specimens contained in Iowa's herbaria are used in various ways for research, teaching, plant identification, and supplying general information about plants. Iowa's larger herbaria are part of a global network, making possible loans, exchanges, and other interactions with herbaria around the world. While Iowa's herbaria contain specimens from many parts of the United States and the world, collectively they house the most complete record of Iowa plants and fungi. The following information is from Index Herbariorum: The Herbaria of the World (1990) - some of the information is available (and cited here) in a more recently updated online database at nybg.org/bsci/ih/.

Institution

Date
founded

Number of
specimens (2000)

Contact person

Cornell College (MOVC) 1967 1,500 Marty Condon
mcondon@cornell-iowa.edu
319-895-4154
Drake University   2500 Tom Rosburg
thomas.rosburg@drake.edu
515-271-2120
Grinnell College (GRI) 1900 20,000 Vince Eckhart
515-269-3028
Iowa State University (ISC)
www.public.iastate.edu/~herbarium
1870 630,000 (including IA) Deb Lewis
dlewis@iastate.edu
515-294-9499
Iowa Lakeside Laboratory (ILH) 1909 6,000 Peter van der Linden
lakeside@iastate.edu
712-337-3669 ext. 5
Luther College (LCDI) 1968 1,000 Tom Cottrell
319-387-1117
Putnam Museum (BDI)
www.putnam.org
1867 10,000 Christine Chandler
chandler@putnam.org
563-324-1054
Simpson College (SICH) 1956 500 Pat Singer
singer@storm.simpson.edu
515-961-1824
University of Iowa (IA)
(transferred to ISC in 2004)
1878 220,000 Deb Lewis
dlewis@iastate.edu
515-294-9499
University of Northern Iowa
(ISTC)
  40,000 Steve O’Kane
steve.okane@uni.edu
319-273-2219
Wartburg College (WET) 1930 3,000 Stephen Main
stephen.main@wartburg.edu
319-352-8386