Biographical Sketch:

Lawrence J. Genalo's PhD. is in Applied Mathematics with an emphasis in Systems Engineering. He has been at Iowa State University since 1971, and has been an Associate Professor since 1981. He has served The American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE) as Program and Division Chair for Freshman Programs and The Division for Experimentation and Laboratory Oriented Studies (DELOS). His current research interest is in bringing high-technology classroom delivery systems into greater use in engineering education through his work with the NSF-funded Synthesis Coalition. Iowa State is a member of this coalition along with Berkeley, Cal Poly - San Luis Obispo, Cornell, Hampton, Southern, Stanford, and Tuskegee.

Dr.Genalo has been very active in the Synthesis Coalition in the area of high tech classrooms and courseware development. He has also served as a mentor in the Program for Women in Science and Engineering. Most recently his interns have prepared web documents for explorations by younger girls.

Most Recent Honor

Dr. Genalo has received many teaching awards from the Engineering College, the university-at-large, and the State of Iowa. The latest of which is the Career Achievement in Teaching Award (Spring, 1995).


1977    PhD Iowa State University	Applied Math/Systems Engineer	
1974	MS  Iowa State University	Applied Math			
1971	BA  Hofstra University		Math				

Academic Experience

	Associate Professor, Iowa State University, 1982-Present
	Assistant Professor, Iowa State University, 1977-1982
	Visiting Assistant Professor, Iowa State University, 1976-1977
	Instructor, Iowa State University, 1973-1976
	Graduate Teaching Assistant, Iowa State University, 1971-1973

Honors and Awards

	ISU Foundation's Career Achievement in Teaching Award, 1995
	ASEE Centennial Certificate, 1993
	AMOCO Foundation Award for Outstanding Teaching, 1993
	Excellence in Teaching, State of Iowa, 1989-90
	Superior Engineering Teacher, College of Engineering, 1989
	Oppenheimer Award, ASEE Midyear, EDGD, 1985
	Thielman Award, Iowa State University, 1974
	American Math Society, 1973
	Magna Cum Laude, Hofstra University, 1971
	Kappa Mu Epilson, 1970
	Sigma Kappa Alpha, 1970