Student Paper Competition 2012

Call for Submissions (Deadline: December 20th, 2011th)

The Africa Specialty Group (ASG) of the Association of American Geographers invites submissions for its annual Student Paper Competition. The Africa Specialty Group will award one or more awards of $150 in recognition of outstanding student papers in any area of physical, social, cultural, economic, political or medical geography of Africa presented at the AAG Annual meeting in 2012. Winner will also have the opportunity to have the paper considered for publication in the African Geographical Review, the refereed journal published by the African Specialty Group of the Association of American Geographers.

Eligibility: AAG/ASG Student paper awards are available to full-time students who are currently enrolled in an undergraduate or graduate degree program at a duly accredited and recognized college, university or other higher educational institution. The paper must be based upon original work done as an undergraduate or graduate student and to be presented at the 2012 AAG. Preference will be given to single-authored papers.  In the case of more than one author the lead author must be a registered undergraduate or graduate student from an accredited college or university, and that student must be the lead presenter of the paper.  Student participants do not have to be members of the ASG to enter the competition.

Applications: Please include in your application:

• A copy of the full paper to be presented or presented at the conference in MS Word or RTF or PDF format;
• A letter requesting consideration for the award and indicating the applicant’s present status as a student as well as the following:

(a) Applicant’s name, (b) Address, (c) School (College), (d) Current degree sought (i.e., PhD, MA, BA),

(e) Advisor, (f) Advisor’s Phone #  (g) Title of Paper

Submissions: Digital submissions are encouraged. Please submit a complete application with the above items and the “ASG Student Paper Award” as the Subject line.

Please send it as an email attachment by December 20th, 2011 to:

It can also be sent snail mail to Marta Jankowska, San Diego State University, Department of Geography, 5500 Campanile Drive, San Diego, CA 92182-4493.


Kwadwo Konadu-Agyemang Distinguished Scholar Award in African Geography

Call for Nominations (Deadline: February 15th)

As the highest honor bestowed by the Africa Specialty Group (ASG), the Kwadwo Konadu-Agyemang Distinguished Scholar Award recognizes scholars whose body of work advances the subfield of African geography in a significant way.  The award recipient will receive a plaque and be recognized at the ASG business meeting, at the AAG annual meeting awards luncheon, and in the AAG newsletter.  The award will be granted to no more than one individual per year - and may not be granted in some years if there is no worthy candidate. 

Eligibility: While scholarship is the primary criteria for bestowing this award, other factors (such as service to the field, training of students, etc) might also be considered.  This award recognizes a career of scholarly achievement, but it could also be awarded to exceptionally productive younger scholars who have significantly impacted the subfield of African geography.  The award recipient need not be a member of the ASG. 

Submissions: Nominations by ASG members (including self-nominations) are welcome.  Electronic submission is strongly encouraged. Please provide a curriculum vita for the nominee as well as a nomination statement (two pages maximum) that describes the ways the nominee meets the award criteria. Please send nominations to Francis Owusu ( by February 15th 2010.


To Join the ASG Contact:

Dr. Iddrisu Adam
University of Wisconsin Marshfield/Wood County
Dept of Geography/Geology
2000 West Fifth Street
Marshfield, WI 54449

Tel:(715) 389-6527
Fax:(715) 389-6517