Countries where English is the primary and/or official language

In all cases, English is the only official language, and therefore, the language of instruction in the schools. Many people in the countrie speak other languages at home, but if they graduated from universities in these countries, we will accept that as having met the TOEFL requirement and thus English requirement (i.e., being exempt from the English Placement Test).

Antigua and Barbuda Guyana Palau
Australia Ireland Papua New Guinea
Bahamas Jamaica Scotland
Barbados Kiribati St. Kitts & Nevis
Belize Lesotho Saint Lucia
Bermuda Liberia Sierre Leone
Botswana Marshall Islands Trinidad & Tobago
Dominica Mauritius Uganda
Fiji Micronesia United Kingdom
Gambia Namibia United States** (except for Puerto Rico)


Nigeria Zambia
Grenada New Zealand Zimbabwe

Countries where English is ONE of the official languages

In these countries, English may be the primary language of many inhabitants and/or the language used in some postsecondary education. If the student indicates that English is their primary language from these countries, we will treat them as native English speakers. (It should be indicated on the application.) If a student from one of these countries is exempt from TOEFL, they will be exempt from the EPT as well.

Cameroon Rwanda Tanzania
Canada Seychelles Tongo
Kenya Singapore Tuvalu
Malawi Sri Lanka Vanuatu
Malta South Africa  
Philippines Swaziland  

Although it is not standard policy, graduate departments with TOEFL requirements higher than 197(iBT)/530(PBT) have the prerogative of requiring the higher TOEFL score of nonnative speakers regardless of where they graduated, including the U.S.